Once Upon a Time For Better or Worse

Are you a fan of Once Upon a Time? Did you watch the finale of season 6?

I have been a fan since the beginning of the series and I think I still am. I’m sure that most of you agree that after this last season ending its hard to imagine its future course. The reason that I’ve decided to write this blog after a month and 11 days of the finale is because I wanted to give it a cool before expressing how I felt. At first, I was conflicted, there were good moments like Henry saving Emma or Rumpelstiltskin defeating Fiona but there was also the closure for these character and continuation of the series. Clearly the creators wanted to say goodbye and give a happy ending to the characters and it worked well. What really bothers me is the fact that they didn’t just leave it like that. Now, don’t get me wrong, I enjoy the show even with its ups and downs, it’s just that I don’t consider it should keep going.

On the other hand, it seems that the creators want and are trying to restructure the series. The decision to maintain three of the main actors (Lana Parrilla, Robert Carlyle and Colin O’Donoghue) shows their intent of maintaining those attributes that has had success over the years. I guess they’ve realized that these actors have contributed greatly to keep the series on air. Another hypothesis could be that the original plot, Henry finding his mom so she could save Storybrook, had already been solved and now they need a new angle. The casting of another kid character looking for a parent, returns to the initial story line. In a way it feels like the creators want to redo the narrative. Hopefully it will work because I would hate to see it cancelled after the perfect series finale of season 6.

 

Let me know what you think about the finale and the decision of continuing the show by leaving me a comment below.


Leave a Reply

